Women's Rugby World Cup 2022

The anticipation for the women’s Rugby World Cup 2022 is reaching fever pitch. After a long wait, we know that there’s going to be some sporting magic displayed.

But do you know everything you need to know about it? We’re going to whizz you through the essentials so you’re fully equipped and prepared for the excitement ahead.

1. The women’s Rugby World Cup 2022 is actually the 2021 World Cup

Yes, you read that correctly. Along with many major sporting events (the 2020/2021 Olympics, the 2021/2022 Women’s European Championships), the 2021 women’s Rugby World Cup was postponed a year. So what was supposed to happen in 2021, is now taking place a year later in 2022.

To avoid confusion, we’re just going to call it the 2022 women’s Rugby World Cup as the action is taking place this year. However, officially, it’s known as the 2021 women’s Rugby World Cup.

2. The runs from Saturday, 8 October until Saturday, 12 November

The women’s Rugby World Cup 2022 starts on 8 October and runs for just over a month until the culmination on 12 November.

3. New Zealand is playing host for the first time

Despite being a nation known as huge rugby fans, this is the first time New Zealand is hosting the women’s Rugby World Cup. Australia was the only other country to submit a bid, but its neighbor lost out.

This also makes it the first women’s Rugby World Cup to be held in the Southern Hemisphere.

4. Matches will be played in three different venues

There are two Auckland stadiums and one in Whangarei that will host the 2022 women’s Rugby World Cup matches. The opening games, semi finals, third place play off and final will be at the 60,000-capacity Eden Park. Meanwhile, Semenoff and Waitakere stadiums will host pool games and quarter final matches.

5. New Zealand are also the defending champions (and are going for a record breaking win)

The host nation is also the winner of the last women’s Rugby World Cup. If they win this iteration, that will take them up to six wins and would make them the most decorated team in history.

6. This world cup sees stiff competition from the English

However, the English team are also extremely strong this year, with many experts saying they could very well take the title home with them.

7. Note the small ‘w’ in women’s…

We all know women’s sports are fast becoming big news, and rightly so. The Women’s Super League, huge names in poker and massive grand slam winners at Wimbledon and more prove this point.

World Rugby is responding to the changing landscape of sport by removing the distinction between male and female World Cups. From 2021 onwards, they stopped calling it the Women’s Rugby World Cup and simply call it the Rugby World Cup. If you want to distiguish between the two, use a lowercase women’s or men’s in front of Rugby World Cup, as the genders are no longer part of the official title.

8. Increased parity doesn’t end with the naming conventions in the women’s Rugby World Cup 2022

In an effort to make the women’s competition more similar to the men’s, there are a number of changes to this year’s event. This includes replacing knockout stage play offs with quarter finals and at least five days between matches.

9. 12 teams are competing

This year, there are 12 teams competing in the women’s Rugby World Cup. England and New Zealand are favorites, but you never know who might surprise us over the course of the competition…

Teams include:

  • England
  • New Zealand
  • France
  • Canada
  • USA
  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • Scotland
  • Wales
  • South Africa

Got an inkling who might win? You can already place your bets at bet365. Plus if you sign up today, you can get this bet365 bonus.