Get Happy! It’s The Australian Open

Happy Slam

The Happy Slam, also known more formally as the Australian Open, is a brilliant way to kick off the tennis year.

We love everything about this Aussie event. And if you’re in the dark about the finer details of the tournament, we’re here to blow the case wide open for you.

Then you can get happy and start getting your fix of the Happy Slam.

The Happy Slam takes place every year in Melbourne

Every single year, the Australian Open takes place in Melbourne Park in, well, Melbourne. It’s been that way since 1972. But before it found its forever home, the tournament used to take place in lots of different locations, including Sydney, Brisbane, Adelaide and Perth. And, it’s even taken place in New Zealand, in both Christchurch and Hastings.

The first Grand Slam of the year

Every year, the Australian Open has the privilege of being the first Grand Slam event of the calendar year. Next up is the French Open, then Wimbledon and bringing up the rear is the US Open.

The Happy Slam dates back to the 1905 Australasian Championships

The roots of the Australian Open date back to 1905 and the first Australasian Championships which was held in what is now the Albert Reserve Tennis Centre. In 1926, it became the Australian Championship.

And then some four decades later, in 1969, the title was changed again to the Australian Open.

Blue hard court for the Australian Open

The Happy Slam’s courts are a distinctive blue hard court made by GreenSet. However, its only been that way since 2020. Before then, it was blue courts by another manufacturer. And then from 1988 until 2007, the courts were green hard court.

Before the introduction of hard court in the 1980s, the Australian Open was held on grass.

The first Slam to feature indoor play

The heat of the Australian summers can be fierce, so this was actually the first Grand Slam tournament to have some matches indoors during extreme heat. But it’s also held events indoors due to rain too.

Trophies named after famous former players

We love the stories behind names of trophies in sporting events. Sometimes they’re called after commentators, like in the PDC World Darts Championship, sometimes they’re named after industry hotshots who sponsor them, but more often then not, they’re named after big name players.

The women’s singles trophy at the Happy Slam is the Daphne Akhurst Memorial Cup. It shares its name with a hugely famous 1920s tennis player.

And on the other side of the fence, you’ve got the men’s singles trophy, which is called the Norman Brookes Challenge Cup. This is called after a player who set the world alight during the early 20th century.

Can I bet on the Happy Slam online?

Why yes you can! The Happy Slam is such a big event that almost every online sportsbook will have open markets for the event. However, we’ve all got our favorite places to wager. And for us, bet365 and tennis always make the perfect match.

Not only are their great markets and often special offers, but we’ve also got a pretty sweet bet365 bonus code for new players. And that’s designed to make your welcome even more warm.

#AD Bonus Referrer Code is an affiliate of the brands we promote throughout this site. While we strive to maintain accuracy throughout our content, we do receive compensation for this promotion.

There are tons of sites out there telling you what online sportsbook, casino or poker room they think you should play at. And we do that too. So what sets BRC apart from the typical online casino review site?


© 2024 – All Rights Reserved
Worried about your gambling?  When the fun stops – STOP!